The David Ross Education Trust

David Ross Education Trust schools create a rich and exciting learning environment that inspires students to become their confident, academic best.

Learn More

pull-out button for trust tab

Lodge Park Academy

Lodge Park Academy understands the importance of a strong academic foundation. Our academy offers a diverse curriculum and enrichment offering to create well-rounded and confident students.

Year 10 Learning Conversation Week

Monday 17th to Friday 21st January is our Year 10 Learning Conversation Week. 

Parents and carers should click on the teacher's name below to access the online appointment. Please only click the teacher's name at the appointment time as booked on MCAS. 

Once you have clicked the teacher's name, you will be taken to a waiting room. The teacher will know you are there and will admit you into the online meeting.

All our Learning Conversation meetings will take place on Microsoft Teams. If you are using a PC, you will be prompted to use Teams (if you have it downloaded already) or to use the web browser version. If you are using a mobile device, you will be prompted to download the Microsoft Teams App first. 

If there are any technical problems at all, please leave the appointment and email the teacher directly. They will call you back. As we get used to using technology in this way, we ask for your patience and understanding if things don't quite go as planned. 

Each appointment is ten minutes long. Please remember that the appointment is just a small part of our engagement with you as partner in your child's learning. You are welcome to contact us about your child's progress at any time. You are welcome to have an online, telephone or face-to-face meeting with us. Please just get in touch. You can read about our approach to Parental Engagement below.

Click the teacher's name below at your appointment time: 

 

Miss Berry

eberry@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk 

Mrs Berry

lberry@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Miss Bettoney

abettoney@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mrs Blackie

sblackie@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Miss Brattle

abrattle@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk 

Miss Carter

hcarter@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mr Chapman

pchapman@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Ms Charalambous

lpa-enquiries@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mr Coe

mcoe@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Ms Connor

sconnor@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Ms Corbally

lpa-enquiries@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Miss Cornwell

hcornwell1@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mr Edwards

aedwards1@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk 

Mr English

jenglish@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk 

Ms Felix

jfelix@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mr Fitzpatrick

cfitzpatrick@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Ms Gates

cgates@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mr Hook

dhook@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk 

Mr Horsley

jhorsley@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mrs Iliffe

jiliffe@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Miss Irons

sirons@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk 

Mr Keith

dkeith@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mrs Keightley

akeightley@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mrs Langley

slangley@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Miss Lee

mlee@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mr Le-Good

sle-good@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mrs Malhi

rmahli@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Miss Martin

smartin@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mr McDonagh

gmcdonagh@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mr Mercer

pmercer@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Miss Morgan

emorgan@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mr Newmark

bnewmark@dret.co.uk 

Ms Ndoh

mndoh@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mrs Occleshaw

boccleshaw@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Ms Rudkin-Nunn 

rrudkin-nunn@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mr Shafei 

kshafei@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Ms Shanks

ashanks@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Miss Starr

jstarr@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mr Stevens

wstevens@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mrs Tilley

ktilley@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mr Tilley

rtilley@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mrs Wilson

jwilson@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

Mr York

ayork@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk

  

 

A new approach to parental engagement

Dear parents and carers

A new approach to home-school relationships for 2021/22

The pandemic showed us that communicating flexibly and virtually is an efficient and effective way of ensuring you are informed about your child’s happiness and progress at school. It also made us all realise how important strong, open relationships are between home and school. 

We strongly believe that parents/carers and teachers should see themselves as partners in a child’s learning and for that reason I would like to introduce a new approach to home-school relationships for 2021/22.

Instead of a single occasion per year to speak to all your child’s teachers during a rushed conversation, where timings get mixed up and you spend most of the time in a queue waiting, we are introducing new ways for you to gain feedback from subject teachers about your child’s learning. In addition, we are increasing the opportunities for you to have an on-going dialogue with your child’s tutor, Head of Year, Year Manager and teachers. 

Our new approach

Tutor check-in call and on-going relationship.

All parents and carers will be contacted by their child’s tutor by phone or email before Friday 15th October. This conversation will be the start of an on-going relationship between you and your child’s tutor. Your child’s tutor will ensure you know how best to contact them if you have any concerns. We are actively encouraging you to use your child’s tutor as your first port of call with any questions, concerns or information you need to pass on. Tutors are more than happy to receive emails from you and will always respond within 48 hours. 

Partners in your child’s learning - open communication between home and school.

We wish to make communication between home and school much easier. We also want to create more opportunities to talk about the progress your child is making. 

Here is how we will achieve greater communication:

  • You will receive (via MCAS) three reports per year. One per term. On the reports you will find learning indicators for each subject

And an indication of progress for each subject:

 

The report will also include your child’s attendance score, their reading age and the amount of positive and negative behaviour points received.

  • All your child’s teachers’ email addresses are on our website and you are encouraged to email them directly with questions or to contact them if you want to know more about how your child is progressing. You can do this at any time. 
  • Teachers will be contacting you to let you know if your child has forgotten homework, or their reading book, or if there is a cause for concern. They will also contact you by email or phone to give praise and let you know when your child has made excellent progress or completed exceptional work. Please expect much more frequent and direct contact from your child’s teachers. If this feels overwhelming to you, let us know and we will coordinate this contact via your child’s Head of Year alone. 
  • If you have a concern about your child’s progress in a lesson, you are warmly invited to contact your child’s Head of Year who will organise an in-person or online meeting for you with the teacher and Head of Subject. We welcome and encourage you to be involved in your child’s learning in this way. It is never too much trouble. 

The importance of My Child At School (the MCAS app).

  • Check your child’s homework via MCAS (students can check it via Student Portal) and ensure they complete it to the best of their ability. If you or your child have any questions or worries about homework, your child’s tutor is happy to help - please email them. 
  • Check your child’s consequences and reward points on MCAS every day. Talk to your child about why they have received consequences. The reasons for the consequences can also be seen on MCAS. Please also praise your child for any reward points they achieve. 
  • Check your child’s punctuality to school and to lessons on MCAS. Encourage your child to be on time every day and for every lesson. 

All parents and carers are asked to ensure they have a My Child At School account. Please call us on 01536 203817 or email enquiries@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk if you need to set up your account. My Child At School is the main way we will contact you. Please also ensure that you update your contact details on MCAS. 

Learning conversation weeks

We want to encourage open and effective ongoing communication with you about your child’s learning. To facilitate this we would like you to regularly look and discuss your child’s learning with them at home and then make a decision about which teachers you wish to speak to during our learning conversation weeks. 

Here is how it will work:

  • Check your child’s exercise books, booklets and folders regularly. Speak to your child about their effort levels and presentation. Praise them for work they have completed well. Use the exercise book check to help you know which teachers you want to be in contact with during learning conversation week.
  • When your child’s learning conversation week is approaching, make a decision about which 3 or 4 teachers you would most like to speak to. Choose teachers of subjects where you have questions about your child’s work or progress. Remember that in addition to learning conversation weeks you are always welcome to contact your child’s teachers. Their email addresses can be found on our website. 

Each year group has been allocated a parent/carer learning conversation week. The dates of these are as follows:

  • Year 12/13 - w/b 1st November 2021
  • Year 11 - w/b 11th October 2021
  • Year 10 - w/b 17th January 2022
  • Year 9 - w/b 21st March 2022
  • Year 8 - w/b 23rd May 2022
  • Year 7 - w/b 6th June 2022

 

  • You will choose the 3 or 4 teachers with which you most want to speak. You will look at their availability for an online conversation on MCAS. You will book a slot via MCAS. 
  • At the time of the appointment you will click a link on the website which will take you to an online meeting with that teacher. 

Teachers’ availability will vary throughout the week. Some may have available slots during the day, others will have them after school. If you wish to have a conversation with a teacher whose availability does not coincide with yours, simply email them and they will arrange a time to give you a call or invite you into school. 

General communication from school to home

We will always communicate with you via MCAS, which is why it is so important for all parents and carers to have an MCAS account and to download the App. We will be increasing the way we use MCAS in the coming year. 

For now, we will also email all communication home, and put most of our letters on our school’s Facebook page. You can also find all of our letters on the news section of our website. 

Communication from home to school

In addition to the methods of communication described in this letter, you can always contact us in the following ways:

  • By email on enquiries@lodgeparkacademy.co.uk 
  • By phone between 8am and 4pm on 01536 207813. 
  • Via your MCAS account
  • By text to your child’s Year Manager if your child has additional pastoral support. In these instances, your child’s Year Manager will have shared their number directly with you. If you would like text message contact with your child’s Year Manager, please let us know. 

We have made a school-wide commitment to respond to all emails and calls within 48 hours wherever possible.  We are really busy in school, but we will always try our best. Please let us know if we fall short of this commitment so that we can keep getting better.

Although social media platforms are brilliant ways for you to keep up to date with school events, please note that we are not able to respond to messages sent via Facebook, Instagram or Twitter. 

At the current time, we are not able to facilitate requests for face to face meetings unless they have been previously booked. This is due to limits on the numbers of visitors we can have in school while Covid-19 is still a risk. Please do not come into reception hoping for a meeting, as we will not be able to help you. Please telephone to make an appointment instead and we will be pleased to book a mutually convenient time. 

I hope you will agree that we are doing all we can to improve our already strong communication between home and school. If you have any suggestions for how we could improve further, please get in touch.

 

Warm wishes

Mrs Waterman